Dead Souls

Author(s): Sam Riviere

FICTION

For readers of Roberto Bola o's Savage Detectives and Muriel Spark's Loitering with Intent, this sublime and delightfully unhinged metaphysical mystery disguised as a picaresque romp follows one poet's spectacular fall from grace to ask a vital question: Is everyone a plagiarist? (Nicolette Polek, author of Imaginary Museums).

A scandal has shaken the literary world. As the unnamed narrator of Dead Souls discovers at a cultural festival in central London, the offender is Solomon Wiese, a poet accused of plagiarism. Later that same evening, at a bar near Waterloo Bridge, our narrator encounters the poet in person, and listens to the story of Wiese's rise and fall, a story that takes the entire night--and the remainder of the novel--to tell.

Wiese reveals his unconventional views on poetry, childhood encounters with nothingness, a conspiracy involving the manipulation of documents in the public domain, an identity crisis, a retreat to the country, a meeting with an ex-serviceman with an unexpected offer, the death of an old poet, a love affair with a woman carrying a signpost, an entanglement with a secretive poetry cult, and plans for a triumphant return to the capital, through the theft of poems, illegal war profits, and faked social media accounts--plans in which our narrator discovers he is obscurely implicated.

Dead Souls is a metaphysical mystery brilliantly encased in a picaresque romp, a novel that asks a vital question for anyone who makes or engages with art: Is everyone a plagiarist?

$33.00(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781474617659
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • : 0.3
  • : May 2021
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sam Riviere
  • : Paperback
  • : 320