A Spot of Folly - Ten and a Quarter New Tales of Murder and Mayhem

Author(s): Ruth Rendell; Sophie Hannah (Introduction by)


New and uncollected tales of murder, mischief, magic and madness. Ruth Rendell was an acknowledged master of psychological suspense: these are ten (and a quarter) of her most chillingly compelling short stories, collected here together for the first time. In these tales, a businessman boasts about cheating on his wife, only to find the tables turned. A beautiful country rectory reverberates to the echo of a historical murder. A compulsive liar acts on impulse, only to be lead inexorably to disaster. And a wealthy man finds there is more to his wife's kidnapping than meets the eye.Atmospheric, gripping and never predictable, this is Ruth Rendell at her inimitable best. The stories are: Never Sleep in a Bed Facing a Mirror; A Spot of Folly; The Price of Joy; The Irony of Hate; Digby's Wives; The Haunting of Shawley Rectory; A Drop Too Much; The Thief; The Long Corridor of Time; In the Time of his Prosperity; and Trebuchet.Introduction from Sophie Hannah.


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781788160155
  • : Profile Books Limited
  • : Profile Books Ltd
  • : 0.221
  • : September 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Ruth Rendell; Sophie Hannah (Introduction by)
  • : Paperback
  • : 1218
  • : English
  • : 224